Home » Plot to Topple PM Mere Political Propaganda, Says Upko

Plot to Topple PM Mere Political Propaganda, Says Upko

TUARAN: United Kinabalu Progressive Organisation (Upko) has dismissed the rumoured ‘movement’ to topple Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as prime minister as mere political propaganda ahead of the upcoming state elections in the peninsula.

Its president Datuk Ewon Benedick said he was not convinced of the existence of such plot.

Even if there were such attempts, he does not believe they would be successful as the current unity government, led by Anwar, was formed legally and in accordance with the Federal Constitution.

“The appointment of the prime minister had undergone a proper process and had been approved by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong,” said Ewon who is also the Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Minister.

He also expressed confidence that the existing anti-party hopping law in Parliament, would make it difficult to topple the prime minister.

He said this when met by reporters after officiating the Madani entrepreneurs and cooperatives programme in conjunction with the Kaamatan Festival at Dewan Tun Hamdan today.

He was asked on the rumours that certain parties were trying to topple the prime minister and the unity government.

“If there is, it’s just a propaganda ahead of the six state elections in the peninsula… this is what I see.

“There is nothing else, it is just a propaganda created by other parties to divert attention to the six state elections,” he said.

He emphasised the importance of Sabahans supporting the unity government that includes racial and religious diversity.

“If the movement to topple the prime minister was led by a party that prioritises only one race and religion, Sabah should not participate in it,” he said.

He reiterated his responsibility as Upko president to ensure that Sabah is represented in a unity government that represents the diversity of races and religions in the country.

The six states that are due to hold their upcoming elections are Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Penang, Kelantan, Terengganu and Kedah.

Source: New Straits Times